Friday, October 21, 2011

TOP COUNTRY MUSIC HONORS: Go to local radio station, two hosts

COLUMBIA, 10/21/11 (Op-Ed) -- Telling them it was a "huge deal," country music superstar Taylor Swift called Columbia radio personalities Scotty Cox and Carissa Loethen last Monday to announce they had won a 2011 Country Music Association (CMA) Broadcast Personality of the Year award. 
The Clear 99 hosts of Scotty and Carissa in the Morning joined their radio station, KCLR, in a rare dual honor. The Columbia-based Zimmer-owned station won Radio Station of the Year.

It's a first win for Scotty, Carissa, and KCLR, who were nominated in 2010 but did not receive the final nod.

Other winners also received calls from celebs. Detroit native Kid Rock called Detroit station WYCD, another first time winner. Tim McGraw called fellow country artist Kix Brooks, the only second-time CMA radio award winner in this year's group.

The 2011 CMA Broadcast Award recipients will be recognized at the Nov. 9 CMA Awards in Nashville. 

No comments:

Post a Comment